“Trick or Treat!” – makes a mom like me cringe.  It wasn’t always that way.

I LOVE Halloween! Costumes!  Candy!  Creativity!  My favorite costume was a football player.  My brother let me wear his helmet.  It was a big deal.

Now – fast forward.  My son gets to do it! Yay!!  On the outside I’m so excited.  I am… but what you don’t see… my heart is also pounding with apprehension.  I’m watching his every move.  Every treat.  I’m praying to myself – please don’t be homemade.  Please be in a wrapper.   WHY?  I know you are thinking… “This lady has a major case of helicopter parenting.”  That isn’t it… at least not completely.

It’s because my son can die.

What you see as harmless will kill him.  A single cashew could kill my son.  It will cause anaphylaxis and without quick action…. my precious love will die.  He is highly allergic to tree nuts.

Despite that, I consider us lucky.  There are so many kids out there with allergies to more items, with more restrictions.

This Halloween, I am not expecting you to adjust to my child.   I’m not going to tell you what to do.  I do want to shed some light on why Halloween is so difficult for some families. teal-pumpkin-3

If we can’t eat your candy, it’s not a personal attack at all.   We just need to know everything that is in the food we eat.  Just because you don’t see a nut in something, it’s still possibly dangerous.   I’m to this day surprised to learn how many items are processed in a place with tree nuts.  We read labels on everything and double even triple check.
We are raising our son to be aware.  He knows to ask if tree nuts are in something and to read labels.  He is so young right now, it’s still a learning process.  It is for us as parents too.  I’m confident we will adjust and keep working thought it.  teal-pumpkin-1

When I explain how serious this is to friends and family, I love when they ask how they can help.  One wonderful way is the Teal Pumpkin Project.  Paint a pumpkin teal and go to this website to print off a sign and learn all the treats and items you can get for trick-or-treats that are safe for many allergens.

teal-pumpkin-2

Teal Pumpkin Project

I see a teal pumpkin and I smile with a bit of relief.  It warms my heart that someone else is willing to take that extra effort and be aware of kids like mine.

