Fresh cut alfalfa–I love the smell. It reminds me of when my brother could lift those bales, but I couldn’t. He would encourage me, by letting me “help” him. I was probably in second grade at the time and he would let me think I was carrying most of it, but he was really holding most of the weight.

Stacking hay bales with my dad.

Stacking hay bales with my dad.

I don’t live on my family farm anymore, but what I did back then has a huge influence on me now. As a teenager, I didn’t like living so far away from classmates. I worked hard to help my dad and mom, even if there were days I would have rather played basketball than be stuck in a tractor, fixing fence or cleaning out a shed. Now, I look back and wouldn’t want it any other way.

cleaning out a shed

cleaning out a shed

Each project I do, I put my heart and soul into, just like my father and grandfather did in the barn or in the field. I will get assigned a task and take it on with an energy that makes what may seem impossible…possible. This is what I do at NTV. I meet challenges head-on. I’m determined not to let anything get the best of me.

cleaning a wound

cleaning a wound

Working in a newsroom or at an anchor desk is not exactly the same as picking up alfalfa bales. But, one time I didn’t think it was possible for me to do what my brother could. As I got older, I was able to start stacking the bales. Then eventually I got strong enough to toss them on the trailer.

Growing up, I would watch the local news with Melissa Beck. I thought there was absolutely no way this freckled face farmer’s daughter could be a news anchor. I was often caked in dirt, pants covered in muck from the feedlot, shirt would be soaked in sweat from my horse after he would rub his head and neck against me at the end of a long days work.

taking care of my horse

taking care of my horse

Several loads of bales later… here I am, a host for Good Morning Nebraska, NTV News at Noon, and the new Co-Host of NTV’s Grow.

NTV’s Grow is a show that is close to my heart. It’s about getting farmers and ranchers in the spot light. Many of us are removed from the farm, and this is a chance to get those in our number one Nebraska industry some face-time — really highlight what is happening on our land, and economy.

I’m not on a farm any more, but I understand the love of the land, it holds on to me. As I’ve heard before: you can take a girl out of the country, but you can’t take the country out of the girl. Don’t let those heels I wear on set fool you… I can work cattle and fix fence with the rest. 🙂

I’m honored to bring you the first installment of NTV’s Grow this Sunday at 10:35pm, after the local news. So many people behind the scenes worked hard to put this together and it shows. I’m so excited about this, and I hope you are too.

I’m proud to represent the ag industry in highlighting new technology, issues facing farmers and ranchers, and helping explain to consumers where their food comes from. This is a show representing those hard-working farm families and ranchers that are all around us. There are also some fun stories in there as well. 🙂

I welcome anyone that has story ideas or issues they want on the show. Email me at mbarnett@nebraska.tv or send me a message on facebook: Marylyn Barnett Fan Page. I want to hear from you.

Enjoy!!!!

