Sitting on the front porch, under the stars,  he said, “One day I’m going to ask you to marry me.”   Exactly 2 years later, I was walking down the aisle in a big dress, my mothers veil, and my dad kissed me on the cheek… giving my hand to Tyler Perry.

Now, three years married, and he still makes me smile nearly every day.  It seems like it was just yesterday I was trying to figure out how to incorporate bright orange “Dumb and Dumber” tuxes into a wedding.  It was a day I will always cherish, and a day many will never forget.Looking back in three short years, we added a LOT of joy to our lives.  We also helped each other through unexpected tragedies.  In three years, we’ve gone through what it may take many people ten years.  Through it all, we have each other.  It’s the greatest thing I can ask for.  I feel so lucky.

I realize it’s our anniversary, but maybe we can all step back and look at our own relationships.  What makes you happy? I can honestly say I am truly happy and I still look forward to seeing Tyler each day.

Ever since I met Tyler, our relationship just grew like it was meant to be.  It was easy.  No drama, just friends that quickly fell in love.

We live for what we love and who we love, I wouldn’t want it any other way.

 

