“Fab cuts… loads of trim… spot price,” those are the words I ramble off every weekday afternoon on NTV News at Noon.  They are much more than random words to me.   It’s a reminder of who I am, where I live,  and how much my job now, being a news anchor,  relates to growing up on a farm.

I rode horses since I could remember and always loved them.  My feet were too short to reach the stirrups–in fact they stuck straight out from side to side.  It was easy to slip off.  I remember the very first time I fell off the back of Goldie.  I fell right on my rump, and boy did it hurt!  My dad said, “dust yourself off and get back on.”  I did.

Goldie was the very first horse I rode. This is me and my dad. My granddad is in the background.

Scoop, lift, and toss–trying to keep up with the auger.  Each load of grain would get heavier and heavier.  My arms would burn and I tried to tell my dad this sucked and I didn’t want to do it anymore.  He said, “this is just as good as weight training, if you want to keep getting stronger, get that whole truck unloaded by this afternoon.”    I set out to prove I could finish it before lunch.

Shoveling grain, stretching fence, digging post holes wasn’t necessarily on top of a list of what I liked to do,  especially as a teenager,  but deep down there was a sense of accomplishment.   I look back and realize those days of wanting to make my father proud, and spending time on the Kansas prairie made me the person I am today.

I am not an expert on markets by any means, but I can read and understand them.  I know how important it is to farmers and ranchers to get information out there about how food moves from the farm to your fork.  I also want to serve as a source for those in the ag industry, raising awareness to what producers are achieving, and giving the latest ag news in technology, and what it takes to keep turning a profit in today’s economy.

Me feeding a bucket calf. I named him Zero.

There have been times I’ve been knocked down from reaching the goals I set out to do, but I refuse to let that stop me.  I tackle each day with the attitude of:  dust yourself off and get back on–and each shovel-full gets you stronger and closer to your dream.  I don’t shy away from hard work, and those I’ve met in the field of agriculture tend to be the same way.  So the next time you hear “fab cuts… and loads of trim, ” know that I may not be in the industry, but there is a connection there that is deeper than words on the screen.

I helped raise lambs on our farm. Yes, this is me, I don't know where I got that hair cut!

You can watch the markets on NTV News at Noon weekdays around 12:20-12:25pm.  Also, join in on a discussion with an Agronomist Monday on Good Morning Nebraska’s Ag Talk.

Barrel racing with my horse Hawk. I loved working cattle with horses, but barrel racing and pole bending was what I liked to do in competitions.

